October 2012 – Upcoming Literary Events

5 Oct

Looking for something fun AND literary to do this month? Check out these events:

October 6th, 7pm – 7th Annual Text Ball @ Disjecta ($12 in advance, $15 at the door)

Brought to you by the Independent Publishing Resource Center, in conjunction with Wordstock, the TEXT BALL is Portland’s most unique literary event, where attendees are encouraged to come dressed with text as part of their evening attire. The theme for this year’s Ball is “The Graphic Details.” During the evening, Back Fence PDX producer/host B. Frayn Masters, with AC Dickson, will host live, unscripted storytelling by graphic novelist Nicole Georges, Carson Ellis, as well as a slideshow presentation by Arthur Bradford and work from cartoonist Matt Bors. Julia Kobos will be do a short dirty hop hop number and Zia McCabe from the Dandy Warhols will serve as the evening’s DJ. There will be text-based refreshments and attendees can enjoy word games like Scrabble, giant crossword puzzles, a dirty limerick challenge and a silent auction. The evening will culminate in a costume parade, with literary prizes for best outfits.

 Tickets are $12 in advance and $15 at the door. Buy tickets here:

  
Note that costumes are encouraged but definitely not required.

All proceeds from the TEXT BALL benefit the IPRC’s mission to facilitate creative expression, identity, and community by providing access to self-publishing tools and resources.

October 7th @ 7:30p – Banned Books Week Reading @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

Each year hundreds of books are challenged in schools and libraries in the United States. Banned Books Week celebrates the freedom to read and the importance of the First Amendment. Meant to highlight the benefits of free and open access to information while drawing attention to the harms of censorship, Powell’s Books and the ACLU of Oregon present an evening of readings by local authors, including Vanessa Veselka, winner of the 2012 PEN/Robert Bingham Prize for Zazen, Phillip Margolin (Gone, But Not Forgotten), April Henry (The Night She Disappeared), Sarah Royal (Creative Cursing: A Mix ‘n’ Match Profanity Generator), and much more!

October 8th, 7:30p – Davy Rothbart @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

Davy Rothbart, author of the national bestsellerFound, is looking for love in all the wrong places. He falls helplessly in unrequited love with pretty much every girl he meets. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley, but going places very much his own, the essays inMy Heart Is an Idiot (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

October 9th, 6-7:30p – Wordstock at the Library @ Central Library (free)

Join Wordstock and the Multnomah County Library for a festival “sneak-peek” event at the Central Library.  Portland-based festival authors will read climactic scenes from their newest books; featuring Evan P. Schneider, Jerry McGill and Alexis Smith.

October 11th, 7:30p – Jeffrey Toobin @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall (Subscriptions start at $75)

Jeffrey Toobin is a staff writer at the New Yorker and the bestselling author of The NineToo Close to CallA Vast Conspiracy and The Run of His Life. His forthcoming book, slated for a September release, The Oath: The Obama White House and the Supreme Court, is a gripping insider’s account of the momentous ideological war between the John Roberts Supreme Court and the Obama Administration. Toobin is also a senior legal analyst at CNN.

October 12th, 4:30p – Book Fan Friday @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

Book Fan Friday is a workshop for kids 10 to 18 years old who love to write. This month, Tina Wexler of International Creative Management will talk about the life of a literary agent. Please join us.

October 13-14th – Wordstock Festival @ Oregon Convention Center

Celebrate the return of the Northwest’s book and literary festival. This year’s guest authors include Chelsea Cain, Kurt Anderson, Philip Margolin, Storm Large, Erin Morgenstern, Bettye LaVette, Jess Walter, and many more. Tickets will be available at the door. Visit WordstockFestival.comfor details.

October 15th, 7:30p – Sandra Cisneros @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

The internationally acclaimed author of The House on Mango Street gives us a moving tale of loss, grief, and healing: a lyrically told, richly illustrated fable for grown-ups about a woman’s search for a cat that goes missing in the wake of her mother’s death. With full-color illustrations that bring this quest to vivid life, Have You Seen Marie? (Knopf) showcases the storytelling magic of Sandra Cisneros in a tale that reminds us how love, even when it goes astray, does not stay lost forever.

October 15th, 7:30p – Marvel Comics: The Untold Story @ Powell’s Hawthorne (free)

Over the course of a half century, Marvel Comics’ epic universe has become the most elaborate fictional narrative in history and serves as a modern American mythology for millions of readers. Sean Howe‘s Marvel Comics: The Untold Story(Harper) reveals the outsized personalities behind the scenes of this multibillion-dollar enterprise, including Martin Goodman, Stan Lee, and Jack Kirby.

October 17th, 7:30p – Timothy Egan @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

Edward Curtis was a successful photographer, the Annie Leibovitz of his time. But in 1900, at 32 years of age, he gave it all up to pursue his great idea: to capture on film the continent’s original inhabitants before the old ways disappeared. In Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), prizewinning writer Timothy Egan tells the riveting, cinematic story behind the most famous photographs in Native American history — and the driven, brilliant man who made them.

October 24th, 7p – Sherman Alexie @ Bgdad Theater ($27, which includes admission & a copy of Blasphemy)

Sherman Alexie‘s stature as a writer of stories, poems, and novels has soared over the course of his 20-book, 20-year career. A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases all his talents in his newest book, Blasphemy (Grove Press). This collection unites 15 beloved classics with 15 new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers. Please note: Tickets, $27, include admission and a copy of Blasphemy and are available at the box offices of the Bagdad Theater and the Crystal Ballroom, online at Etix.com, or by phone at 855-227-8499. Books will be distributed at the event.

October 24th, 7-8p – Verse in Person – Poetry Readings @ Northwest Library (free)

Listen to Oregon poets read from their works. This monthly program is organized by local poets to highlight two to three poets each reading.

October 30th, 7:30p – Matthew Inman (The Oatmeal) @ Powell’s Burnside (free)

If your cat is kneading you, that’s not affection; it’s checking your internal organs for weakness. If your cat brings you a dead animal, it’s not a gift; it’s a warning. The hilarious serving of cat comics, facts, and instructional guides inHow to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You (Andrews McMeel Publishing) is the latest from New York Times-bestselling-author Matthew Inman of TheOatmeal.com.

*********************************************************************

Have a literary event you’d like to publish here? Do you know of a fun event that’s missing from this list? Please comment on this post & I’ll update for our readers.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: